The Kathāsaritsāgara is a famous 11th-century collection of Indian legends, fairy tales and folk tales as retold in Sanskrit by a Shaiva named Somadeva [hi]. the 10th Book of the Katha-sarit-sagara with some omissions. Kathasaritsagara or Ocean of the. Streams of Story Bogams, Telugu dancing-girls, I,. ,. Kathāsaritsāgara by Somadeva Bhaṭṭa; 25 editions; First published in ; Subjects: Fairy tales, Folk literature, Folklore, Hindu Mythology.

Author: Fenriran Maran
Country: Costa Rica
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: History
Published (Last): 5 September 2005
Pages: 97
PDF File Size: 16.34 Mb
ePub File Size: 15.1 Mb
ISBN: 753-1-68215-891-5
Downloads: 56044
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Muran

This is the English translation of the Kathasaritsagara written by Somadeva around The full text of the Kathasaritsagara the Ocean of Story in English is available here and publically accesible free to read online. Of course, I would always recommend buying the book so you get the latest edition. List of Gelugu publish by Professor Maurice Bloomfield and his school.

Foreword to volume 1. Foreword to volume 2. Foreword to volume 3.


Kathasaritsagara (the Ocean of Story)

Foreword to volume 4. Foreword to volume 5. Foreword to volume 6.

Foreword to volume 7. Foreword to volume 8. Foreword to volume 9.

Katha Sarit Sagara Original Text

Preface to volume 2. Preface to volume 3. Preface to volume 4. Preface to volume 5. Preface to volume 6. Preface to volume 7. Preface to volume 8.

Preface to volume 9. The King and the Two Wise Birds. The Lady who caused her Brother and Husband to change Heads. The King who married his Dependent to a Nereid.

The Three Fastidious Men. Anangarati and her Four Suitors.

Kathasaritsagara (the Ocean of Story)

The Hermit who first Wept and then Danced. The Father that married the Daughter and the Son that married the Mother. Conclusion of King Trivikramasena and the Mendicant. Introduction to the tradition of Betel-chewing.

Kathāsaritsāgara | Open Library

Part 1 – Betel-Chewing in India prior to a. Part 2 – Northern and Central India. Part kathaasaritsagara – Southern India. Part 4 – Assam, Burma, Annam and Siam. Part 5 – The Malay Peninsula. Part 6 – The East Indian Archipelago. Part 7 – Sumatra. Part 8 – Java. Part 9 – Borneo. Part 10 – Celebes. Part 11 – Philippine Islands. Part 12 – Southern China.


Part 13 – Micronesia. Part 14 – The Pelew Islands.

Part 15 – The Carolines. Part 16 – The Marianne Islands.

Part 17 – Melanesia. Part 18 – Eastern New Guinea. Part 19 – The Solomon Islands. Part 20 – Tikopia Island. You have to be a member in order to post kathasarigsagara.

Click here to login or click here to become a member.